The Journey of Clean Energy Innovators: Transforming Innovative Ideas into Breakthrough Solutions

17th of September 2020 | 17:00 – 18:30

Event Overview

This public-facing side event aims to take a deep dive into the journey of individual innovators that – through their own efforts and initiatives – bring new clean energy solutions to society, often with the support of public and/or private funding vehicles or non-financial enabling policy frameworks. To leverage the potential of innovators to spearhead the clean energy transition, the virtual roundtable, moderated by a high-level MI-member government official, will highlight the role of these innovators in accelerating the transition, as well as their vision on technology and policies. MI Champions and Young Innovators will share their experience, with particular reference to their experience of public R&D programs, philanthropic and investment vehicles. The conclusions and findings of the session will contribute to the discussion among Mission Innovation decision makers, to shape the new wave of global innovation efforts in particular through Mission Innovation 2.0.


Akshay Makar

Phil De Luna
National Research Council of Canada – Program Director

Helen Watts
Director of Innovation and Partnerships, Student Energy

Can Li
Director of the Dalian National Laboratory for Clean Energy

María Luisa Hernández Latorre

Drew Leyburne
Assistant Deputy Minister, Energy Technology Sector Natural Resources Canada


17:00 – 17:05

Welcome and Opening Speech
Patrick Child

17:05 – 17:10

Keynote Speech
Renu Swarup

17:10 – 17:15

Keynote Speech
Ashley Grosh

17:15 – 17:20

Introduction to the roundtable
Patrick Child

17:20 – 18.00

Roundtable with MI Champions, representatives of MI-member governments and Youth Organisations
Malak T. Al-Nory, Provost Effat University, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia

Maria Luisa Hernández Latorre, CEO Ingelia, Spain (European Commission MI Champion)

Can Li, Director Dalian National Laboratory for Clean Energy, PRC

Phil de Luna, Program Director, National Research Council of Canada

Anna Skarbek, CEO Climate Works, Australia

Drew Leyburne, Assistant Deputy Minister, Natural Resources Canada

Akshay Makar, Founder and CEO of Climatenza Solar, India and representative of SDG7 Youth Constituency

Helen Watts, Director of Innovation and Partnerships, Student Energy Forum

18.00 – 18.20


18.20 – 18.30

Concluding Remarks
Patrick CHILD